Austalian GT Championship returns to Phillip Island

The Australian GT Championship will return to Phillip Island in 2017, with teams and drivers set to tackle the fast, sweeping Grand Prix circuit in April (21-23).

Phillip Island will feature as the third round of the Championship, taking the place of Queensland Raceway later in the year.

“We were approached by a group of competitors who wanted to participate at a Supercars event as it was appropriate for their sponsors,” Australian GT manager Ken Collier told Auto Action.

“Our on-going discussions with Supercars identified Phillip Island as an event which could facilitate our race regulations and timing.”

Mr Collier went on to confirm that Australian GT is working hard behind the scenes with Supercars and CAMS ahead of the 2017 season.

“We have always had the largest Australian motorsport events on our calendar with Clipsal Adelaide and the Australian Grand Prix,” Mr Collier reasoned.

“By adding the Supercars Phillip Island round and keeping our own events at Symmons Plains and Highlands on the Australian GT Championship calendar we have a good balance of events.

“Symmons Plains and Highlands will have first class post production TV shows and an example is on our website.

“It is produced by our own production company and is as good, if not better than anything I have seen for motorpsort TV.”

The 2017 CAMS Australian Endurance Championship is set to kick off in Adelaide in early March before moving on to the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix for round two of the season.

After Phillip Island the Championship will head to Symmons Plains for the first time in a decade, before rounding the year off at Highlands for its traditional and hugely popular finale.

Along with Sydney Motorsport Park, Phillip Island is the only other circuit to have hosted a round of the Australian GT Championship in every year since 2005.

In that time the circuit has hosted 32 races and produced 17 different race winners, Peter Hackett the Championship’s most successful driver at the venue with seven race wins.

Click here to view the full 2017 CAMS Australian GT Championship calendar